Erin Cummings, Instagram photo, Dear @Pink, almost one year | Latest Erin Cummings’s Instagram Picture

#ErinCummings
Dear @Pink, almost one year ago, I was diagnosed with breast cancer – at age 39, two months after my wedding, while hoping to start a family. When I lost all my hair, I felt like a warrior. I felt like people found strength in seeing me brazenly bald because cancer was not going to shame me. I'm now seven months post-chemo and my hair is growing back. For the past few weeks, I've been feeling incredibly insecure. I've never had short hair and I no longer look like I have cancer. I just have REALLY short hair and I feel very exposed I've been feeling like I look, as your daughter Willow said, "like a boy." I was in the audience at the VMAs last Sunday. When you gave your speech about the incredible people who have embraced and thrived in androgyny, I once again felt powerful. I felt sexy. I felt beautiful. I lifted my head and chest higher. I smiled. I walked through the world differently than I had before I heard your inspiring words. And that confidence in my new look has already created new opportunities for me in my work. I've been to your concerts, I've admired your music and your talent for years. But the gift you gave to me and so many others who were battling in private… you will never fully know the extent of what you gave in your truth and your wisdom. It may have been meant for Willow, but it reached millions. Thank you. And huge thanks to my sister, @michelinepitt, for designing my look and making me feel like a Blade Runner Badass. For her makeup tips to achieve this look, see this post on her Instagram page! Hint: she used @anastasiabeverlyhills #vmas #vmas2017 #pink #inspired #beautiful #likeaboy #shorthair #pixiecut #makeup #anastasiabeverlyhills

Erin Cummings, Instagram photo, Dear @Pink, almost one year

Leave a comment